Mondays

IMG_0959 copyThe Auckland food scene caters for everybody. Even those that wake up and vow to eat healthy all day everyday but end the day munching down on delicious burgers (yeah, we’re guilty as charged). Tucked down a driveway in Kingsland is Mondays, the brainchild of Eleanor from Petite Kitchen and Hannah from Health,Yeah. The place is small, very small. It can probably seat about seven people inside, so don’t go on a rainy day? There’s a courtyard but again, space is limited – so you’re best to takeaway.IMG_0935 IMG_0938

We don’t exactly see eye-to-eye on Mondays (but that’s the good thing of having two of us right, there’s a greater chance that one of us may have the same taste as you). While we both loved the salmon salad. I had about two sips of the drinks we ordered. Boni liked both the berry smoothie and the vanilla, honey, almond milk. She is an advocate for almond milk, while I am not. Clearly she is the health-food junkie and I the burger fiend – we cover the best of both worlds.IMG_0977 IMG_0964

When we visited, Mondays had just recently opened and it was a Saturday morning so the line was out the door. It’s best to follow them on some sort of social media (Facebook, Instagram) to get an idea of what they’re cooking up in the kitchen that day before going. As with all healthy wholefoods places, the quality is good but the prices are higher for less. The above three things cost a total of $31.IMG_0926 IMG_0952

Parking – the usual horrible Kingsland scenario.

Oh, and they’re open every day except Wednesday – not just Mondays.

Mondays
503B New North Road, Auckland

5 comments
  1. amythlf said:

    I can not agree more! My sisters love eating healthy while I just want bacon and grease!

  2. I’ll have to be with Team Boni xD Wow, the drinks look so cute and delish! Is the smoothie cup a tad smaller than average size ones or is it just the angle?

  3. A fair review.

    I really wanted to like Mondays because I adore Eleanor’s blog. But I didn’t feel that it was a good fit for my tastes. The portions are so small and the food is so expensive. After we paid $50 for our small, healthy lunch at Mondays, we went down the road to get fries and cocktails.

    Everything in moderation!

  4. Agree with everything in moderation. I tried Mondays and really liked the cheesecake although it was small and pricey (but their ingredients are pricey so I do understand), the cheesecake was about my only option when I arrived on a Saturday afternoon though.

Leave a Reply

