Gala Cafe

Hidden beside a modern art gallery and within a business block, I don’t think I would ever have stumbled across this restaurant had it not had an online coupon deal (such an excellent idea for cafes to generate some exposure and of course an initiative appeasing for the wallet). I haven’t read up on any reviews for this restaurant but I do know that they are slanted more towards the healthy eating side of things. I ordered a berry smoothie to go along with my eggs benedict. It may be too biased to base a restaurant on how well their benes are done but hey, I think it’s fair to say eggs benedict are a fair breakfast/brunch staple in Auckland.  Whilst the smoothie my taste-buds agreed on, the eggs not so much. My sister’s blueberry pancakes weren’t all that appetizing both visually or for the stomach. This isn’t a bustling crowd, people-watching cafe, but more of a modern quiet hideaway. I did enjoy the refreshing setup with the high ceiling, lots of natural light and an excellent in-outdoor flow.

table-marker smoothie beneblueberry-pancakes mother-in-law-eggs inside

Gala Cafe.
Zone 23, Unit G08 at 23 Edwin St, Mt Eden, Auckland. (not visible outside-  in the courtyard through the main entrance of the building.)

THT-Gala-Cafe

2 comments
  1. Those pancakes are terrible. It shouldn’t take a master photographer for a photo to be able to capture that a pancake dish is in fact a pancake dish. There’s no amount of photoshop that would fix that particular plate. How odd.

    • Ah yes. We had to dig through to find them and let’s say we weren’t exactly digging up treasure. I also think something that’s not soothing for the eye already has 25% of its chance of me liking it flown out the window. Hopefully our next restaurant review will be much better!

Leave a Reply

