Mighty Mussels

New Zealand mussels are definitely a must-eat. Fresh and plump. As its prime season is quickly passing us by and the prices begin creeping up, I thought I’d take the opportunity to buy a bagful and turn them into a healthy snack using the dehydrator. I also spiced them up a little and coated them with honey. If you can stop eating them, then they make as a nice gift too!

mightymusselreceipe stepone-steammussels steptwo-putontrays stepthree-brushonhoney stepfour-sprinklepepper mightymussels

8 comments
    • Thank you! Hopefully we can try some more new ideas and share with you guys πŸ™‚

  1. Wow, that’s amazing. I’ve never heard of dehydrating mussels. Does it intensify the flavour?

    P.S. Thanks for submitting to Our Growing Edge.

    • They do, and they’re very good snacking food I’ve found. Pretty much finished my first batch already!

  2. Love this idea! Added bonus that I have a dehydrater, so I will attempt to try this soon. Thanks so much for sharing!

    • Your welcome πŸ™‚ we also tried apple slices too to make apple ‘chips’. Good alternative if you want something sweet instead!

      • I use my dehydrater to make fruit leather, Korean beef jerky and my personal favorite homemade candied ginger powder which is amazing as a seasoning for meats, sauces, cocktails and more!

Leave a Reply

